On September 8, 2014, the search begins for the next class of Loran Scholars. Graduating high school and CEGEP students have the opportunity to apply for Canada’s largest and most comprehensive merit scholarship, valued at up to $100,000 over four years.

Loran Scholars are chosen for their character, service and leadership potential. Each scholar receives an annual stipend of $9,000, a matching tuition waiver at one of 25 partner universities, one-on-one mentorship by a Canadian leader and a summer program. In addition, scholars join an extensive network of peers, mentors and alumni. They are challenged to gain experience in different sectors, to become active campus and community leaders and to determine how they can most effectively contribute to society in the long term.

The 30 Loran Scholars are selected each year from approximately 3,500 candidates from all parts of country. In addition, the Loran Scholars program grants 80 finalist and provincial awards of up to $3,000 to the top 3% of candidates. The selection process is rigorous and involves personal interviews at the regional and national levels.

For the 2014-15 application cycle, sponsored applications are due October 22, 2014. In addition, students may apply directly. Please review the application process for details.

25 Years of Loran Scholars
Since 1988, there have been more than 500 past and present scholars taking on leadership responsibilities in diverse fields, including biomedical technology, financial services, public policy, real estate, healthcare, theatre, dance, social work, academia and law. See the full listing of Loran Scholars.

The Loran Scholars program is sustained by hundreds of volunteers across Canada and by the contributions of individual, corporate and foundation donors. Alumni play vital roles in stewarding the program, serving as volunteers, mentors, staff members and summer internship employers. Eighty-six per cent of alumni give back to the program and have collectively contributed more than $1 million in support of future scholars.