The Loran Scholars Foundation has invited 76 graduating high school and CEGEP students (listed below) to national selections in Toronto on February 6 and 7, 2015. Chosen for their character, commitment to service and leadership potential, these finalists represent the top 2% of this year’s 3,800 applicants.

At national selections, 30 Loran Scholars will be chosen. Each will receive an undergraduate award valued at up to $100,000 over four years, tenable at one of 25 partner universities. Finalists not selected as Loran Scholars are eligible to receive a $3,000 award.

Since 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $26 million in undergraduate awards to 2,300 Canadian students, including 500 past and present Loran Scholars. Past Loran Scholars include successful entrepreneurs and the CEO of a publicly traded company, executive directors of local and national charities, a half-dozen clerks at the Supreme Court of Canada and 15 Rhodes Scholars.

2015 Loran Finalists

Rosa Alaimo
Unionville High School, Unionville, ON

Somaya Amiri
Sir Charles Tupper Secondary School, New Westminster, BC

Joanne Banh
Maple Ridge Secondary School, Maple Ridge, BC

Chloe Batista
Lorne Park Secondary School, Mississauga, ON

Aaron Benwic
Marshall McLuhan Catholic Secondary School, Toronto, ON

David Bobyn
Bishop Carroll High School, Calgary, AB

Chris Bolton
Windsor Secondary School, North Vancouver, BC

Galen Boulanger
L.V. Rogers Secondary School, Nelson, BC

Taylor Boyd
Northern Secondary School, Toronto, ON

Daniel Brown
Kenner Collegiate and Vocational Institute, Peterborough, ON

Julia Bryson
Westmount Secondary School, Carlisle, ON

Milton Calderon Donefer
Cobourg Collegiate Institute, Cobourg, ON

Hannah Cameron
Citadel High School, Halifax, NS

Nader Chaya
Georges Vanier Secondary School, Toronto, ON

Sophia Chen
Collège André-Grasset, Montreal, QC

Nico Connor
Centre Scolaire Léo-Rémillard, Winnipeg, MB

Jenna D’Aurizio
Abbey Park High School, Oakville, ON

Alex Deans
Académie Sainte Cécile International School, Windsor, ON

Telina Debly
Hampton High School, Hampton, NB

Stefan Divic
Riverdale Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON

Ilrick Duhamel
Cégep Garneau, Québec City, QC

Catherine Dunne
Holy Spirit High School, Conception Bay South, NL

Sally Falk
Aurora High School, Aurora, ON

Nicole Flanagan
Our Lady of the Lake Catholic College School, Keswick, ON

Anya Forestell
École Sainte-Anne, Fredericton, NB

Webster Fox
Winston Knoll Collegiate, Regina, SK

Caitlin Grady
Cégep de l’Outaouais, Gatineau, QC

Aaron Grenke
Living Waters Christian Academy, Stony Plain, AB

Walid Herzallah
Glenforest Secondary School, Mississauga, ON

Patrick Hickey
Holy Heart of Mary High School, St. John’s, NL

Anthony Hope
Johnston Heights Secondary School, Surrey, BC

Emily Hutchings
A.N. Myer Secondary School, Niagara Falls, ON

Anna Iankovitch
John Abbott College, Montreal, QC

Andrew Ilyas
Waterloo Collegiate Institute, Waterloo, ON

Hannah James
Gulf Islands Secondary School, Salt Spring Island, BC

Jenna Jessome
Memorial Composite High School, Sydney Mines, NS

Erin Knight
Gilbert Plains Collegiate (GPCI), Gilbert Plains, MB

Gina Kwon
Martingrove Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON

Hannah Lank
Kelvin High School, Winnipeg, MB

Jocelyn LeBlanc
École Aux quatre vents, Dalhousie, NB

Anna Legault
Esquimalt High School, Victoria, BC

Ryan Lo
Matthew McNair Secondary School, Richmond, BC

Annaliese Loeppky
Garden Valley Collegiate, Morden, MB

Chris Lomond
Cobequid Educational Centre, Truro, NS

Henry Lu
Bayview Secondary School, Richmond Hill, ON

Iryna Luchak
Austin O’Brien High School, Edmonton, AB

Michelle Lutsch
École secondaire L’Essor, Tecumseh, ON

Hannah Martin
North Colchester High School, Tatamagouche, NS

Nathan Meulenbroek
William Aberhart High School, Calgary, AB

Annaliese Meyer
New Westminster Secondary, New Westminster, BC

Nick Milum
Eric Hamber Secondary School, Vancouver, BC

Sinclair Minshull
Uxbridge Secondary School, Uxbridge, ON

Kayla Nice
Harbour View High School, Saint John, NB

Sabrina Nunn
Kensington Intermediate Senior High School, Kensington, PE

Cameron Praysner
Langstaff Secondary School, Richmond Hill, ON

Kenza Rahmouni El Idrissi
Collège André-Grasset, Montreal, QC

Thish Rajapakshe
Okanagan Mission Secondary School, Kelowna, BC

Sarah Roberts
Earl of March Secondary School, Kanata, ON

Calder Schweitzer
Lindsay Collegiate and Vocational Institute, Lindsay, ON

Jessica Scott
Dr. Martin LeBoldus Catholic High School, Regina, SK

Abeera Shahid
Turner Fenton Secondary School, Brampton, ON

Joshua Shepherd
Sir Frederick Banting Secondary School, London, ON

Emily Shilton
Westdale Secondary School, Hamilton, ON

Frannie Sobcov
Nepean High School, Ottawa, ON

Angus Sullivan
Haliburton Highlands Secondary School, Haliburton, ON

Darcy Taylor
Gonzaga Regional High School, St. John’s, NL

Emerald UnRuh
Westview Secondary School, Maple Ridge, BC

Nicholas Waltenbury
St. Joseph-Scollard Hall Catholic Secondary School, North Bay, ON

Lauren Wiebe
Niverville Collegiate, Niverville, MB

Jayden Wlasichuk
Swan Valley Regional Secondary School, Swan River, MB

Eunice You
Marianopolis College, Montreal, QC

Sabrina Yu
Dr. EP Scarlett High School, Calgary, AB

Tanner Zekonic
Mount Royal Collegiate, Saskatoon, SK

Bonnie Zhang
R.C. Palmer Secondary School, Richmond, BC

Alice Zhou
Glenforest Secondary School, Mississauga, ON

Helen Zhou
Central Technical School, Toronto, ON

For further information on the finalists: Julia Lo, Manager, Marketing & Communications,