Eighty graduating high school and CEGEP students (listed below) will attend the Loran Scholars Foundation’s national selections in Toronto on February 5 and 6, 2016.

We received more than 4,200 applications this year and interviewed 400 students in 22 different cities. Our rigorous selection process is designed to seek out evidence of character – integrity, courage, compassion, grit and a high level of personal autonomy – in young leaders who are committed to serving others. The 80 finalists come from all walks of life, hailing from Canada’s largest cities as well as smaller communities. At national selections, our interviewers will select 30 Loran Scholars.

Since 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $28 million in undergraduate awards to promising young Canadians on the basis of character, service and leadership potential. Tenable at one of 25 partner universities, the Loran Award is valued at up to $100,000 over four years, including annual stipends and tuition waivers, mentorship, funding for summer internships, annual retreats and a weeklong orientation expedition. Finalists not selected as Loran Scholars are eligible to receive a $3,000 finalist award.

Sara Abdessamie, École Sainte-Anne
Fredericton, NB

Erin Anderson, Chestermere High School
Langdon, AB

Bilal Ayyache, Nelson McIntyre Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Charlotte Beaulieu, Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Montréal, QC

Nitish Bhatt, Gonzaga Regional High School
St. John’s, NL

Laurence Boucher-Meilleur, Cégep de l’Outaouais
Gatineau, QC

Devon Bourgeois, Kelowna Christian School
West Kelowna, BC

Jessica Boyce, H B Beal Secondary School
London, ON

Sheldon Cannon, Kindersley Composite School
Kindersley, SK

Ayush Chadha, Lillian Osborne High School
Edmonton, AB

Anne-Isabelle Cloutier, Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Andre Cochegrus, Sir Wilfrid Laurier Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Catherine Côté, Cégep de Rimouski
St-Louis-du-Ha! Ha!, QC

Philippe Côté, Cégep de Saint-Jérôme
Prévost, QC

Ashley Cummings, F.H. Collins Secondary School
Whitehorse, YT

Taylor Lynn Curtis, Holy Trinity School
Peterborough, ON

Heba El Gubtan, Churchill High School
Winnipeg, MB

Cengiz Eller, École Secondaire Catholique St Dominique Savio
Owen Sound, ON

Kendra Fincaryk, Sturgeon Composite High School
Calahoo, AB

Allison Gacad, St. John Paul II Catholic Secondary School
Toronto, ON

Émélie Gagnon, Polyvalente Thomas-Albert
DSL de Grand-Sault, NB

Matthew Gehring, Leaside High School
East York, ON

Shayna Giesbrecht, Dakota Collegiate Institute
Winnipeg, MB

Alex Gillis, Fountain Academy of the Sacred Heart
Halifax, NS

Briar Gornall, Quinte Christian High School
Demorestville, ON

Zach Graves, Merivale High School
Ottawa, ON

Aidan Harold, Notre Dame College School
Welland, ON

Noubahar Hasnain, Mount Pearl Senior High School
Mount Pearl, St.John’s, NL

Megan Hill, Fredericton High School
Fredericton, NB

Alicia Hill-Turner, Aberdeen Hall Preparatory School
Vernon, BC

Yuna Im, Bernice MacNaughton High School
Moncton, NB

Dardan Isufi, Dawson College
Granby, QC

Curtis Janes, All Saints Catholic Secondary School
Whitby, ON

Ilakkiyan Jeyakumar, R H King Academy
Scarborough, ON

Sydney Kuppenbender, Churchill Community High School
Air Ronge, SK

Anushka Kurian, Hugh Boyd Secondary School
Richmond, BC

Braden Lamoureux, Uxbridge Secondary School
Uxbridge, ON

Josh Lau, M. E. LaZerte School
Edmonton, AB

Stephanie Li, Old Scona Academic High School
Edmonton, AB

Gracie Lowes, Ridley College
Fonthill, ON

Marie-Hélène Lyonnais, Champlain Regional College (St. Lawrence)
Québec, QC

Siobhan MacDonald, Dalbrae Academy
Mabou, NS

Sarah Mackenzie, United World College of the Adriatic
Calgary, AB/ Intl

Dave MacTaggart, Ecole Secondaire Notre Dame High School
Lacombe, AB

Yasmina Male, Collège français secondaire
Toronto, ON

Jack McCrossin, St. Malachy’s Memorial High School
Grand Bay, NB

Max Moloney, Adam Scott Collegiate and Vocational Institute
Bridgenorth, ON

Haseenah Molumo, Webber Academy
Calgary, AB

Mana Moshkforoush, Duchess Park Secondary
Prince George, BC

Loréanne Natola, Vanier College
Montréal, QC

David-Dan Nguyen, Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Daniel Nixon, Summerland Secondary
Summerland, BC

Kaylee O’Meara, Etobicoke School of the Arts
Toronto, ON

Nic Ouellette, Walnut Grove Secondary School
Langley, BC

Shane Pendergast, Morell Regional High School
Mount Stewart RR#1, PE

Angelica Poversky, R.A. McMath Secondary
Richmond, BC

Peter Quigley, Patrick Fogarty Secondary School
Orillia, ON

Wynn Rederburg, Frances Kelsey Secondary School
Cowichan Bay, BC

Salma Rehimini, Champlain Regional College (St. Lambert)
Saint-Constant, QC

Barry Riordon, Bathurst High School
Pokeshaw, NB

Callista Ryan, Howe Sound Secondary
Squamish, BC

Mia Sanders, University of Toronto Schools
Toronto, ON

Adi Sharma, Grande Prairie Composite High School
Grande Prairie, AB

Sarah Sherry, Widdifield Secondary School
North Bay, ON

Rashmini Shunmugam, École secondaire Neelin High School
Brandon, MB

Athavarn Srikantharajah, R.H. King Academy
Ajax, ON

Aditi Sriram, William Lyon Mackenzie Collegiate
Toronto, ON

Nisha Telesford, Vaughan Road Academy
Toronto, ON

Hannah Tobias-Murray, Westdale Secondary School
Dundas, ON

Jonah Toth, Campbell Collegiate
Regina, SK

Silas Tsui, Eric Hamber Secondary School
Richmond, BC

Alexander Urquhart, Dryden High School
Dryden, ON

Bronwyn Vaisey, Vancouver Technical Secondary
Vancouver, BC

Jordan Van wyk, Sir John A Macdonald Secondary School
Waterloo, ON

Maddy Whitestone, Harbord Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Nathan Wilson, St Paul’s High School
Winnipeg, MB

Vicky Xu, Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Emily Yin, Earl Haig Secondary School
Toronto, ON

Rosemary Young, Citadel High School
Halifax, NS

Sayeh Yousefi, R.E. Mountain Secondary
Langley, BC