Selection of the 88 Finalists in 2019 for the Loran Award

This year, we received 5,089 applications for the Loran Award. Our volunteers assessed and interviewed 518 students across the country in order to identify the 88 graduating high school and Cegep students (listed below) invited to attend our National Selections in Toronto on February 1 and 2, 2019.

Our rigorous selection process is designed to seek out evidence of character – integrity, courage, grit, compassion, and inner-directedness – in young Canadians who are committed to serving others. These 88 finalists come from all walks of life, hailing from Canada’s largest cities to its most remote areas. At National Selections, our interviewers will select up to 34 Loran Scholars.

Since 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $46.3 million in undergraduate awards to promising young Canadians on the basis of character, service, and leadership potential. The Loran Award is valued at $100,000 over four years, including a $10,000 annual stipend, tuition waivers from any one of our 25 partner universities, mentorship, funding for summer internships, annual retreats, and a weeklong orientation expedition in Algonquin Park. Finalists not selected as Loran Scholars are eligible to receive a $5,000 finalist award tenable at any Canadian public university.


2019 Loran Finalists


Jason Amri
Ancaster High School
Ancaster, ON

Béatrice Allard
Cégep de Saint-Laurent
Montréal, QC

Iulia Anescu
Collège Lionel-Groulx
Sainte-Thérèse, QC

Mataea Armstrong
W.H. Croxford
Airdrie, AB

Zahur Ashrafuzzaman
Queen Elizabeth Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Jasleen Bahia
Britannia Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Abnash Bassi
Seaquam Secondary School
Delta, BC

Olivia Batten
Westisle Composite High School
Rosebank, PE

Kamea Bellows
Waterford Valley High School
St. John’s, NL

Farouk Benadada
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Chloe Bolongaro
D.W. Poppy Secondary School
Langley, BC

Guillaume Bouchard
Marianopolis College
Westmount, QC

Ryan Brown
Owen Sound District Secondary School
Owen Sound, ON

Erin Burnley
Nanaimo District Secondary School
Nanaimo, BC

Dilly Cooner
Southridge School
Surrey, BC

Emma Creasy
Bell High School
Manotick, ON

Mike Dallimore
Barrie North Collegiate Institute
Barrie, ON

Nhi Dao
Mount Boucherie Secondary School
Kelowna, BC

Madison Dartana
Vancouver Technical Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Michael DeMarco
McNally Composite High School
Edmonton, AB

Katriona Deutsch
Balcarres School
Balcarres, SK

Kalli Dockrill
Branksome Hall
Toronto, ON

Geneviève Doiron
Charles P. Allen High School
Bedford, NS

Laura Doyle Péan
Cégep Limoilou
Québec, QC

Maria Duynisveld
Pugwash District High School
Pugwash, NS

Shanecia Elias
Thomas L Kennedy Secondary School
Mississauga, ON

Melissa Elliott
North Hastings High School
Bancroft, ON

Ashlyn Fairbanks
Grey Highlands Secondary School
Flesherton, ON

Clodie Geoffroy
Cégep de Drummondville
Drummondville, QC

Ruchira Gupta
John Fraser Secondary School
Mississauga, ON

Kate Haberl
New Westminster Secondary School
New Westminster, BC

Finn Hafting
Annapolis West Education Centre
Annapolis Royal, NS

Kailyn Hanke
Neepawa Area Collegiate
Neepawa, MB

Tessa Hill
Etobicoke School of the Arts
Etobicoke, ON

Everett Horner
Barrie North Collegiate Institute
Barrie, ON

Kayla Hritzuk
Mont’Kiara International School
Mont Kiara, Kuala Lampur

Leanne Hudson
Annapolis West Education Centre
Annapolis Royal, NS

Fletcher Huffer
Canmore Collegiate High School
Canmore, AB

Mira Ishak
Cawthra Park Secondary School
Mississauga, ON

Ta’Ziyah Jarrett
Lawrence Park Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Cecilia Kim
Semiahmoo Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Bethany Kolisniak
St. Mary’s Academy
Winnipeg, MB

Alec Landry
École Mathieu-Martin
Dieppe, NB

Cole Langer
Matthew McNair Secondary School
Richmond, BC

Kim Lefort
UWC Atlantic College
Wales, UK

Kai Leong
Killarney Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Jaime Little
Fredericton High School
Fredericton, NB

Esha Mahmood
Banting Memorial High School
New Tecumseth, ON

Vardaan Malhotra
Fredericton High School
Fredericton, NB

Mitchell Mansfield
Highland Secondary School
Comox, BC

Ryder Mason
Lake City Secondary School
Williams Lake, BC

Bianca Matthews
Turner Fenton Secondary School
Brampton, ON

Mesgna Mesgna
Churchill High School
Winnipeg, MB

Gaëlle Mével
Cégep Garneau
Québec, QC

Gurnoor Minhas
Brantford Collegiate Institute and Vocational School
Brantford, ON

Amanda Montmeny-Huot
Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Montréal, QC

Paniz Moradi
Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Liam Murdock
Central Algoma Secondary School
Desbarats, ON

Sinead Osivwemu
Vincent Massey High School
Brandon, MB

Tessa Piccolo
E.L. Crossley Secondary School
Fonthill, ON

Leon Picha
Matthew McNair Secondary School
Richmond, BC

Janelle Poirier
Polyvalente Louis-J.-Robichaud
Shediac, NB

Anu Popoola
Holy Trinity School
Richmond Hill, ON

Chris Pratt
William Aberhart High School
Calgary, AB

Chan Roh
Luther College High School
Regina, SK

Danielle Ruhigisha
École Victor-Brodeur
Esquimalt, BC

Mehera Salah
M.E Lazerte Composite High School
Edmonton, AB

Marika Schenkels
Lester B. Pearson College of the Pacific
Victoria, BC

Laila Shaheen
Lester B. Pearson College of the Pacific
Victoria, BC

Sam Sharp
West Carleton Secondary School
Dunrobin, ON

Marilyn Sheen
Kensington Intermediate Senior High
Kensington, PE

Cameron Shepherd
Arnprior District High School
Arnprior, ON

Emily Simon
John Paul II Collegiate
North Battleford, SK

Heidi Simpson
Glovertown Academy
Glovertown, NL

Shankari Sivanathan
Martingrove Collegiate Institute
Etobicoke, ON

Martin Staadecker
École secondaire Étienne-Brûlé
Toronto, ON

Albany Sutherland
Hammarksjold High School
Thunder Bay, ON

Taron Topham
Grandview School
Grandview, MB

Matthew Trefiak
Wainwright High School
Edmonton, AB

Dona Tu
Sir Robert Borden High School
Nepean, ON

Chidi Umenwofor-Nweze
The Mahindra United World College of India
Paud, India

Meena Waseem
Cameron Heights Collegiate Institute
Kitchener, ON

Aloka Wijesundara
R.H. King Academy
Scarborough, ON

Emma Willoughby
École Sir John Franklin High School
Yellowknife, NWT

Christina Wong
Glace Bay High School
Glace Bay, NS

Hank Wu
Fleetwood Park Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Shiqi Xu
Sutherland Secondary School
North Vancouver, BC

Makayla Zuberbier
Surrey Christian School
Surrey, BC


Media Contacts

Katii Capern, Marketing & Communications Officer
416.646.2120, x233