Selection of the 88 Finalists in 2020 for the Loran Award

This past autumn, 6,084 students applied for the 2021 Loran Award, as they began an academic year in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic. This record increase in Loran applications is, to us, a testament to the resiliency of Canadian youth. It sent an optimistic message that students are taking the future into their own hands — choosing hope over disquiet and action over apathy, despite physical distancing restrictions. 

Through online interviews with semi-final candidates representing the top 5% of applicants, we have seen sparks of leadership potential shine through young people who have persevered through adversity and who have demonstrated commitment to serving their communities. In these students, hundreds of selections volunteers sought out the qualities we look for in Loran Scholars: evidence of being curious, kind, inner directed, and grounded in integrity. 

Now, we are thrilled to announce our 72 Loran finalists who hail from coast to coast to coast. These graduating high school and Cegep students (listed below) will take part in our virtual National Selections in February and March. We invite you to join us in celebrating the 2021 finalists, and we look forward to revealing who among them will be joining our newest class of Loran Scholars.

Since 1988, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $50 million in undergraduate awards to promising young Canadians on the basis of character, service, and leadership. The Loran Award is valued at $100,000 over four years, including a $10,000 annual stipend, tuition waivers from any one of our 25 partner universities, mentorship, funding for summer work experiences, annual gatherings, and a weeklong orientation expedition in Algonquin Park. Finalists not selected as Loran Scholars are eligible to receive a $5,000 finalist award tenable at any Canadian public university.

2021 Loran Finalists


Toni Agbaje-Ojo
Upper Canada College
Toronto, ON

Yasmine Ahmed
Turner Fenton Secondary School
Brampton, ON

Michelle Akim
John Abbott College
Pierrefonds-Roxboro, QC

Kyran Alikamik
East Three Secondary School
Inuvik, NT

Tasneem Alnahhas
Earl of March Secondary School
Stittsville, ON

Hubaib Amin
Eastdale Collegiate and Vocational Institute
Oshawa, ON

Hikmah Awosiyan
Campbell Collegiate
Regina, SK

Alex Balbino
Saint Thomas More Collegiate
Burnaby, BC

Louis-Philippe Bateman
Cégep Garneau
Québec, QC

Elias Bowman
Grant Park High School
Winnipeg, MB

Laurence Breton
Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon
Saint-Léon de Standon, QC

Finlay Brown
Canterbury High School
Ritchie, NB

Colton Chaput
École secondaire catholique Algonquin
North Bay, ON

Joy Chowdhury
London Central Secondary School
London, ON

Halle Cochrane
St. John’s Ravenscourt School
Winnipeg, MB

Ben Comeau
École Secondaire du Sommet
Halifax, NS

Regan Clipperton
Christ the King Catholic Secondary School
Georgetown, ON

Malik Dahel
John Abbott College
Pierrefonds-Roxboro, QC

Mehak Dhaliwal
Central Peel Secondary School
Caledon, ON

Owen Ebose
Burnaby North Secondary School
Burnaby, BC

Haana Edenshaw
Lester B. Pearson United World College of the Pacific
Masset, BC

Pénélope Fernandez-Busto
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Montréal, QC

Louise Foglia
Cégep de Saint-Laurent
Montréal, QC

Leo Gao
Harry Ainlay High School
Edmonton, AB

Maeve Gillis
Dalbrae Academy
Judique, NS

Hafeez Ahmed Gomez
Notre Dame High School
Toronto, ON

Everett Graham
Redwater School
Redwater, AB

Emma Harris
Miles Macdonell Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Younseo Heo
Saint John High School
Saint John, NB

Julien-Pierre Houle
Cégep de Sherbrooke
Sherbrooke, QC

Tanisha Kadia
École McTavish Public High School
Fort McMurray , AB

Joy Khalil
Cardinal Carter Catholic High School
Richmond Hill, ON

Averi Kleinsasser
École acadienne de Truro
Debert, NS

Albert Lalonde
Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Montréal, QC

David Landry
Lisgar Collegiate Institute
Ottawa, ON

Onuku Larochelle
Wellington Secondary School
Nanaimo, BC

Kisha Latawa
Queen Elizabeth Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Naia Lee
Sir Winston Churchill Secondary
Vancouver, BC

Mattie Leslie-Toogood
Nelson McIntyre Collegiate
Winnipeg, MB

Anthony Létourneau
Cégep de Matane
Matane, QC

Samuel Lowe
Grace Christian School
Belle River, PE

Tala MacDonald
Mount Sentinel Secondary School
Winlaw , BC

Madison Malloy
Chipman Forest Avenue School
Youngs Cove, NB

Kate Marchetti
Jacob Hespeler Secondary School
Cambridge, ON

Alex Marin
Cégep de Baie-Comeau
Baie-Comeau, QC

Magnus Roland Marun
St. Mary’s High School
Owen Sound, ON

Megan Matlock
Northumberland Regional High School
Stellarton, NS

Koralie Mokam Nzudie
École Ronald-Marion
Ajax, ON

Abygail Montague
St. Thomas More Catholic Secondary School
Hamilton, ON

Asha Nathoo
Sir Winston Churchill High School
Calgary, AB

Diyora Norumukhamedova
L’Amoreaux Collegiate Institute
Toronto, ON

Chidiebere Okarah
École Panorama Ridge Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Emmanuella Oladipo
St. Mary Catholic Secondary School
Pickering, ON

Malorie Osmond
Fogo Island Central Academy
Fogo Island, NL

Julie Pilon
École secondaire publique LeCaron
Tiny, ON

Saskia Recke-Smith
United World College in Mostar, BiH
Toronto, ON

Tristan Rendell
George P. Vanier Secondary School
Courtenay, BC

Myah Robinson
Eastwood Collegiate Institute
Cambridge, ON

Brianna Russell
Ascension Collegiate
Clarke’s Beach, NL

Orla Scott
Oak Bay Secondary School
Victoria, BC

Suruthika Senthilkumaran
Georges Vanier Secondary School
North York, ON

Krish Shah
Westwood Community High School
Fort McMurray , AB

Sidney Shaw
Unionville High School
Markham, ON

Eman Shayeb
Ross Sheppard High School
Edmonton, AB

Stéphanie Skerrett
École secondaire publique de La Salle
Ottawa, ON

Amelia Spacek
École secondaire Notre-Dame-du-Sault
Aweres Twp, ON

Martin Tang
Seaquam Secondary
Delta, BC

Stephanie Urena Rodriguez
The Bishop Strachan School
Toronto, ON

Kevin Wang
Britannia Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Zack White
École Sir John Franklin High School
Yellowknife, NT

Nava Wolfish
Sir Robert Borden High School
Ottawa, ON

Vincent Wong
Prince of Wales Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Media Contacts

Danielle Sanders, Marketing & Communications Officer

Katii Capern, Marketing & Communications Officer