Alumni are hitting the road across Canada and Turtle Island to present Loran Awards at high schools in our communities. Alumni have been incredibly supportive and enthusiastic about making these presentations. Thank you to everyone who has made time to attend a graduation ceremony this year. Your willingness to recognize and welcome the newest members of the Loran community is greatly appreciated. We hope that the feedback we’ve received from Alumni so far is indicative of what the experience is like for everyone because it has been very positive. Hopefully these presentations are a chance to remember what it felt like to be a high school student, coming to terms with what a Loran Award could mean, and the person that you were then. I think that we could all use the wisdom of our high school selves every once in a while.

Alright, on to sharing some photos of ceremonies already completed:

Brigette DePape (Loran Scholar ’07) presented to 2019 Temerty Loran Scholar Bethany Kolisniak, from St Mary’s Academy in Winnipeg, MB.

Zac Young (W. Garfield Weston Loran Scholar ’10) presented to 2019 BMO Capital Markets Loran Scholar Meena Waseem, from Cameron Heights Collegiate in Kitchener, ON.

Nathan Valsangkar (Belzberg Loran Scholar ’12) presented to 2019 Loran Finalist Award recipient Erin Burnley, from Nanaimo District Secondary School in Nanaimo BC.

Other Completed Presentations:

Julie Van de Valk (Loran Award ’12) presented, to 2019 McCall MacBain Loran Scholar, Cole Langer and 2019 John H. McArthur Loran Scholar, Leon Picha, at Matthew McNair Secondary in Vancouver, BC.

Dylan Collins (Loran Award ’10) presented to 2019 Hasham Family Loran Scholar, Shiqi Xu at Sutherland Secondary School in Vancouver, BC.

Erica Commons (Loran Award ’09) presented to 2019 BMO Capital Markets Loran Scholar Jasleen Bahia at Brittania Secondary in Vancouver, BC.

Emily Wiesenthal (McCall MacBain Loran Award ’14) presented to 2019 Loran Provincial Award recipient Tessa Rehill at Saint Michael’s University School in Victoria, BC.

Upcoming Presentations:

Chris Cowperthwaite (Jostens Loran Award ’99) is presenting to 2019 Scace Loran Scholar Ta’Ziyah Jarrett at Lawrence Park Collegiate Institute in Toronto.

Erin Knight (Scace Loran Award ’15) is presenting to 2019 Cronin Loran Scholar Taron Topham at Grandview School in Grandview, MB.

Jenna D’Aurizio (BMO Capital Markets Loran Award ’15) is presenting to Loran Finalist Award recipient Mira Ishak at Cawthra Park Secondary School in Mississauga, ON.

Meghan Payment (CIBC Loran Award ’13) is presenting to 2019 Ralph M. Barford Loran Scholar Mesgna Mesgna at Churchill High in Winnipeg, MB.