Skip to main content

2024 Loran Scholars

Loran believes the key to building a brighter future is empowering values-driven youth ready to embrace the challenge of leaving the world better than they found it. To find these young people, we look beyond marks to identify 36 students with a guiding sense of purpose: those who demonstrate exceptional strength of character, a deep commitment to service, and the potential to lead with integrity.

As graduating high school and Cégep students, the pursuits and accomplishments of the newest Loran Award recipients are exemplary. Still, it is their courage to push boundaries and challenge the status quo and their dedication to uplifting their communities that distinguish them as Loran Scholars.

Within the new cohort, one scholar volunteers at a helpline and serves as a member of a Nunavut-wide youth advisory committee on climate change; another is a volunteer providing interpretation services to refugees; one is a student dispatcher for the Kitimat Fire and Ambulance Service; and another is the vice president of the operations department of Opportunity, a youth-founded organization that researches opportunities for young Canadians. These are only a few examples that give us hope that Canada will thrive if we ensure such promising students are given the opportunity to imagine, explore, and create the future.

To become a Loran Scholar, each of these students participated in an in-depth, nationwide selection process carried out by hundreds of volunteer assessors and interviewers. From writing an application to regional semi-final interviews to attending National Interviews in Toronto, the entire Loran selections process is a personal growth experience—a chance for the students to learn about themselves and connect with other optimistic young changemakers.

At Loran, our mission is to find young people who approach challenges with curiosity, perseverance, and creativity, who are humble, inquisitive, and thoughtful, and who have the capacity to collaborate to drive change. We give these exceptional students a launchpad to unlock their potential and empower them to make positive change in their communities. Loran Scholars benefit from a four-year, comprehensive leadership-enrichment program, financial support, and a network of values-driven peers and mentors—unlike anything else in this country.

In addition to the Loran Award, we also recognize and provide one-time entrance awards to 54 Loran Finalists who made it to Nationals and 70 students recognized as Loran Provincial and Territorial Award recipients at the semi-final level. Overall, we will invest more than $4 million in 160 community-engaged students across Canada this year.

Since its inception 35 years ago, the Loran Scholars Foundation has provided more than $66 million in undergraduate awards to more than 3,400 promising high school and Cégep students, including 796 Loran Scholars. Together, the program’s alumni form a diverse ecosystem of values-driven leaders who accept the challenge of building a better world across an array of sectors, such as technology, the arts, law, science, education, and finance.

Loran Scholars have gone on to hold such positions as President of Doctors of the World, Country Manager for Azerbaijan at The World Bank, Assistant Professor of Critical Studies of Race & Indigeneity at the University of Toronto, Chief of Staff of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency with the Government of Canada, and CEO of Birds Canada. 

Moreover, eight Loran Scholars have gone on to clerk for the Supreme Court and 25 have been selected as Rhodes Scholars. Though their work spans a multitude of sectors and disciplines, alumni share and continue to be guided by Loran’s core values of character, service, and leadership.

Click here to learn how other Loran alumni are driving meaningful change.

Class of 2024

Kubra Ashori
St. Michael’s Adult Catholic Secondary School
Windsor, ON

Teerka Baskaran
Bayview Secondary School
Stouffville, ON

Mishka Caldwell-Pichette
Cégep de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue
Rouyn-Noranda, QC

Émilie Charest
Cégep de Lévis
Issoudun, QC

Blake Conod
École secondaire catholique Marie-Rivier
Kingston, ON

Julien Côté
École Voyageur
Cold Lake, AB

Cianne Coutinho
Loyola Catholic Secondary School
Mississauga, ON

Hannah Daley
Citadel High School
Halifax, NS

Jakob DeGruchy
East Antigonish Education Centre/Academy
Havre Boucher, NS

Valérie GC Lalonde
École secondaire catholique de Plantagenet
St. Pascal Baylon, ON

Tristan Hall
Mount Elizabeth Middle-Secondary
Kitimat, BC

Mahrukh Hassan
Bedford Road Collegiate
Saskatoon, SK

Chloe Huang
Britannia Secondary School
Vancouver, BC

Lubna Ismail
Lord Beaverbrook High School
Calgary, AB

Shreya Jain
Maple Ridge Secondary School
Barrie, ON

Marie-Lou Latourre
Cégep Garneau
Québec, QC

Sarah Leshob
Collège André-Grasset
Montréal, QC

Sadie MacDonnell
Corner Brook Regional High School
Corner Brook, NL

Isaac MacLean
Three Oaks Senior High School
Summerside, PE

Liam McKay-Argyriou
Marion M. Graham Collegiate
Saskatoon, SK

Olivia Mendes
Sentinel Secondary School
West Vancouver, BC

Aamna Mushtaq
Princess Margaret Secondary School
Surrey, BC

Mbarouk Nassor
Cégep de Saint-Laurent
Verdun, QC

Chloe Nguyen
Sir Winston Churchill Secondary
Vancouver, BC

Baljot Rai
St. Paul’s High School
Winnipeg, MB

Paolo Ramelli
Bishop Ryan Catholic Secondary School
Hamilton, ON

Sophie Robinson
Penticton Secondary School
Penticton, BC

Ashley Sabharwal
Clayton Heights Secondary
Surrey, BC

Aidan Sampson
St. Lewis Academy
St. Lewis, NL

Mark Seemann
Charlottetown Rural High School
New Glasgow, PE

Sally Smith
École Sainte-Anne
Fredericton, NB

Anne-Èva Soucy
Cégep de Sainte-Foy
Lévis, QC

Billy Truong
Bernice MacNaughton High School
Moncton, NB

Aidan Webb
Avon View High School
Windsor, NS

Kira Young
Lester B. Pearson United World College of the Pacific
Yellowknife, NT

Katie Yu
Inuksuk High School
Iqaluit, NU